Today's the day

By sheilwill

Bluebell Wood

Today's the day ...................... for the lifeboat station

Such a lovely day today - and because it seems ages since I had a proper walk, I took myself off for a stroll along the coastal path of Kirkcudbright Bay out to the Lifeboat Station.

It was a lovely walk with the air full of the sound of birdsong - chiffchaffs, blackbirds, robins, every sort of tit, willow warblers, chaffinches to name but a few.  Lots of plants making their appearance, jack-by-the-hedge, dogs mercury, honesty - but the main star of this path at this time of the year are the bluebells as you can see above.

As I sat at the conveniently placed picnic table at the Lifeboat Station (see extra), there was another star putting on a show for me.  Several terns were diving into the water just offshore, right in front of me - but much too quick to catch in a photograph.  You'll just have to take my word for it!

I did notice for the first time, a plaque (see extra) attached to the wood under the table.  It commemorated Bella, obviously a much-loved dog, who paddled in the water here and had a connection with the lifeboat .....................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.