SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Finished

It was still misty for most of today, as I sat marking the last of the case studies. However, there were moments when the sun was almost out so, at 17:30, when I got to the end of my marking, I decided to go out for a walk. I could see that Suður á Nakki (the peak at the east end of the island of Kunoy that dominates Klaksvík) was clear, so I walked that way. As I took the path I used to get up the col to Myrkjanoyrarfjall, I gradually climbed out of the mist. Thinking that it would be a lot nicer from "up there" - the crest of a rock band on the immediate skyline - I left the path and headed straight uphill. The rock band offered a bit of scrambling, and on top (c350m) there was an unexpectedly large flat area. Out of the mist, it was warm in the sunshine and, warmed with the effort, I was comfortable in a tee-shirt. The views were splendid (the peak left of centre is Klakkur, where I ran last night), as I walked along the top of the rock band, eventually finding a path heading back east. I followed it (see extra), wondering if I could get to the far side of Klaksvík to make my descent, but I reached a fence that plunged back down into the mist. With no "right to roam" here, I'm wary of crossing fences. So, I retraced my steps, used the path to find a weakness in the rock band, and was soon back on the original path, and dropping into the mist. After picking up a few groceries, I was back to the apartment before 20:00: a great wee outing!

Last episode of "Hinterland" tonight: exciting!

Album of the Day - The Stone Roses - The Stone Roses. My favourite album by my favourite band was issued 35 years ago today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.