Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Another walk

Today I joined the Brewery Walk in the Walking Festival.

We set off from Bellingham at 4 and walked the 1.5miles uphill to Hareshaw Linn, a beautiful waterfall at the top of a stunning gorge. The area is an SSSI (Site of Special Scientific Interest) because of the rare ferns, lichens and liverworts that thrive there.

The wild flowers were lovely today. There are no bluebells but lots of wood anemones, wood sorrel, wild garlic and much more.

I was delighted to manage the walk up with no problem and the walk down (which is trickier).

We went to the First and Last Brewery for a brewery visit and I know a lot more about brewing beer now. The door to the brewery was open and the temperature dropped. I was chilled by the time I came home and had to put on the central heating and extra layers of clothes!

Earlier in the day I had a very slow start, after yesterday's exertions. Then I went to see Jenny and Dennis to have tea and cake to celebrate Margret's birthday. Kate came away from her work for a few minutes too. 

My blip is of a deep pool, not far below the waterfall. I liked the colours and the way the ferns and rushes frame it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.