Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Bon voyage

Rosina outside the departures hall of T4 Heathrow. She's looking wide awake and fresh as a daisy after a good nights sleep. I doubt that she will be looking (or smelling) quite so fresh when she lands in Melbourne in more than 24 hours time!

We had breakfast together before she went through to security, which is what we did with Luke when he left for China more than 3 years ago. There were no tears. As a family, I think we are comfortable being together and comfortable being apart. All of the children are sensible and independent, so Diana and I have little to worry about, and of course modern day technology makes staying in touch so much easier. Perhaps this is why some people find it more difficult (Diana's sister and mother for example). I don't think they have the same confidence in the children's ability to fend for themselves, and don't embrace the technology that allows them to stay in touch.

So, we now have a WhatsApp group called 'Sheilas and Bruces' which all of the youngsters have joined along with Andrew (the brother in law) and myself. Meanwhile, the women will be handwriting letters and waiting an eternity for a reply. Nice to get a letter though or so I'm told. Can't remember when I last had one that wasn't from some corporation demanding payment or trying to sell me something I don't want or need. As a friend said recently, unless it can enlarge my bank balance, I'm not interested :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.