Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

PORLOCK WEIR

We decided to take the bus down to Porlock Weir today - it’s a very narrow and windy road, although only about 1¾ miles - and that in itself cause some consternation because we’d been told it was just £2 each so Mr HCB had £4 ready. However the driver said it was £4.80, but after a bit of scrabbling around, we couldn’t raise the other 80p so it had to be a large note – which the driver was able to change, so we didn’t get turned off the bus!

When we got down to Porlock Weir apart from one or two walkers we seem to be the only ones there so we just had a meander around. It was good to see the sea but the beach such as it was, was very pebbly, so I walked across it very gingerly.

Being just after 9:30 am, there weren’t many places open so after our wander we went into what is known as “The Bottom Ship” - see extra - which has nothing at all to do with bottoms or ships – it’s just to differentiate between The Ship Inn in Porlock, this one at Porlock Weir being “down the bottom of the hill”!

We had a lovely cup of coffee and Mr. HCB had a large piece of bread pudding, which he said was OK but not as good as mine! The one good thing was that I got some free Internet at last so I did log onto Blip and gave lots of stars while I could.

I’m sure you will be pleased to know that we didn’t throw any stones or go bathing in the harbour entrance!

We are now back at the flat and just chilling out. The weather was lovely this morning but the black
clouds are rolling in - so I guess reading and jigsaw puzzling will be the order of the day.

We met and chatted to some lovely people and when I “blessed” our bus driver with one of my hearts, he said he had never been blessed before! As I told him, “There’s always a first time!”

Many thanks for all your kind comments, stars and hearts for our second Blipmeet with our friend,Simon yesterday.

PS The pareidolia at the top is especially for my blip friend, LSquare - who is the “Queen of Pareidolia” and I knew she would like this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.