ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Born Under A Bad Sign

I don’t know if Gemini is a “bad” sign, but this is where I was born, nearly sixty four years ago. Not in this exact building of course - apparently that was pulled down in 1997!
I was at Clatterbridge Hospital, on the Wirral, this afternoon to see my sister, who has just started long term treatment for some issues she has been having. The nurse asked if I’d been to Clatterbridge before and looked quite surprised when I said not for nearly 64 years! She said she couldn’t remember there ever being a maternity unit there. Hardly surprising, as that service closed in 1982 and she was only young!
I only found that out when, out of curiosity, I researched the history of the hospital. Apparently, it started life as a treatment centre for infectious diseases amongst inmates of the Wirral Union Workhouse in 1888, with an infirmary being built in 1899. It didn’t become Clatterbridge Hospital until 1930 and then I’m guessing nothing of importance happened until my birth thirty years later!
As I said, maternity services ended in 1982, and the last of the old workhouse buildings was pulled down in 1997, so I’ve had to make do with a picture of a random building, rather than the blue plaque commemorating my arrival in the world, that I might have expected!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.