Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Overwhelmed.

I slept like a log last night, not sure how I achieved it but it was most enjoyable! We enjoyed the 1st episode of Rebus too, very different but well filmed and the usual Edinburgh pastime of playing spot the location!
This morning Joyce and I went down to Stockbridge and wandered the charity shops. Surprisingly both the doors and the china (or some of it) which I spotted last week, are still on sale.
We noticed that the Anthony Gormley man had survived the inundation of the last few days but was wearing some rather attractive greenery! Ten days ago when I was here with Anne the water was barely up to his knees. I chose to use his head as my thumbnail, lol.
We wandered along to La Barantine for some sustenance, I had a slice of target delicious Tarte aux Abricots while Joyce opted for a Gateau avec framboises, which was more of a custard type tart. Both were delicious.
We headed back home in time for a late lunch, laden with a baguette, some sliced rare roast beef, some salami and some home made chicken liver pate from Herbie's. I had been very concerned that when Herbie's changed hands a couple of years ago their home made goods would disappear, but they continue to be stocked.
Ali joined us for lunch. Stuart has been in Spain working this week so it's been a busy time for her. She and the girls are all in good spirits though.
Good luck if anyone is doing tomorrow's marathon. Hope the weather holds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.