Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Oxalis

Oh I feel so sorry and full of admiration for those who were doing the Edinburgh Marathon today. It's hardly stopped raining all day and there are pictures all over social media of the Water of Leith running high.
Joyce and I made a deliberate sortie before lunch to Craigleith shops, which was just as well or I wouldn't have crossed the threshold all day.
We've had a delicious roast chicken for dinner this evening. I think it is one of my absolute favourite comfort meals... and the roast potatoes were well nigh perfect too!
My blip is of two of my Oxalis plants, they were banished to the spare room while Pickle was here as she considered them a particular delicacy. Being in the spare room is bad news for plants as I forget all about them and they only get watered when we have guests to stay and I notice they are still there.
These two had both completely died off above ground, however it's amazing what a bit of light and water can do. The left hand one has been on the window sill this week and has revived beautifully. The other has taken a little longer, but as you can see the stems are starting to grow and unfurl.
I realise that I've had these two plants well over 10 years as they were given to me by a former colleague who retired in 2010.
It's a week of sister visits, Joyce goes home tomorrow and Colin's sister arrives tomorrow evening, but only overnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.