Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Dog bites man

You would not want to mess with this one. Very scary indeed - and fearless.

Today the Royal Photographic Society organised an assignment to go to watch a police dog training day in Stanley. It was held at a disused factory with plenty of room for different manouvres. We saw the German shepherds and other large dogs do agility exercises, find objects and show where these were on the ground, and use controlled aggression to stop criminals. In this exercise the dog went in even though the man was firing the gun. Impressive.

The sniffer dogs came to. They were either spaniels or labradors and you can touch and pet them. (Don't mess with the others.)

Our fee today was a voluntary donation to Paws Up, a charity which supports retired police dogs. I learned such a lot today about the dog handlers and how they worked. I've a load of images which I like but have chosen an action one which I think shows the energy we saw today.

Then - home to watch Andy Murray win Wimbledon. Today has it all!!

PS I have just noticed that my blip one year ago was another dog, also well trained.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.