Journey Through Time

By Sue

My favorite...

Well, one of my favorite birds, I think. Bushtits are so fascinating to watch as they come to our yard in large flocks of 15 or 20 birds. Maybe more for all I know, as you certainly can't count them. They move fast and they flit from tree to tree, visit the water fountains, pig out at the suet feeder and then return to the trees where you can here them cheep. They are North America's smallest songbird, and I have yet to figure out what kind of a "song" they sing as all I hear are peeps and cheeps. Doesn't seem to qualify as a "song" to me, but then I'm no song bird expert.

It finally occurred to me that I'd never posted anything for today, and I had very few photos to chose from, so this little female bushtit is the star for the day. She has light colored eyes indicating this is a female.

I went grocery shopping and also visited Bill's place of work, the garden nursery. I bought a flat iron steak for our dinner tonight. I saw this recipe on The Chew last week or so and it looked so good. I made the "rub" that was the recipe and the compound butter that had lime and cilantro in it, and a bit of that is put on the steak and yes indeed...it is good. We don't eat a lot of beef, so it was a treat. A spinach salad and watermelon completed our yummy dinner. The recipe calls for New York Strip steaks, but I used the flat iron steak instead. And I grilled it on the barbecue, not on the stove as his recipe states. But next time, I might try it his way.

Then we watched the Jack Reacher movie with Tom Cruise. I hate to admit watching it as I have read ALL of Lee Child's Jack Reacher novels and believe me, Tom Cruise is not Jack Reacher. The movie was okay, and it's been awhile since I read book number one in the series, so I'd pretty much forgotten the story line of that book, so it was all new to me anyway. But the main character should be younger, blonder, and a lot taller than Tom. But he had the money to buy the rights to the books and Lee Child sold out to Tom, and we are stuck with the results...

And that's it for another exciting day in Paradise....ah...Vancouver. See ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.