Bug! Bug!

This rather large mosquito caused the most excitement today. It must have snuck in the house when letting the dog in and out at night. We were all in the family room this morning and my granddaughter who is two years old, spotted it first. She does not like bugs and started pointing and doing a little dance 'bug, bug!' My grandson who is five decided he would try to kill it with a dishtowel. I have to add that the room we were in has very high ceilings and this mosquito was high up there.
My husband told him to bunch the towel up into a ball before tossing it to give it more weight. Well, he threw it about four times before hitting it and causing it to take flight to an even higher spot over the wall unit. The screeching and yelling that was going on was funny. Especially since most of it was coming from me. Ha-ha.
At this point, I think we are going to name the darn blood-sucking insect because nobody can get to it now and it is not moving. In New Jersey, we nickname this type of mosquito the New Jersey State bird because it is so big. We are even known as the "Mosquito State," because 63 species of mosquitoes have been found here.
Am I going to lose sleep over this bug? You bet. I will probably have nightmares about it taking a big bite out of me during the night. The kids have already forgotten all about it. How great to be a kid and only worry about what is going on at the moment. Speaking of moments, after dinner my granddaughter was entertaining us with her version of the pop song by Christina Aguilera and Pit Bull called Feel this Moment. The lyrics are I just wanna feel this moment However, being only two years old it comes out sounding like, I just want to be this mommy. Haha..we all had a good laugh over that one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.