Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A scary sight

Today I walked with the Haltwhistle Walkers - it's so good to be able to walk long walks again. Yesterday's acupuncture seemed to keep Arth quiet despite an ascent and descent from Rothbury to Simonside and back.

The weather had changed dramatically from yesterday; the tops of the hills were shrouded in mist and the views were hazy. The sun broke through only at 5pm which was too late for us. The lower temperatures were a relief and we enjoyed the walk.

Our American friend BJ was with us today and flies home to California tomorrow. She always walks with us when she's in the UK.

On the way down a lane I spotted this scarecrow. There are loads of scarecrow competitions at the moment, but further investigation revealed that this is a working scarecrow. She is so unusual I thought I would blip her - I don't think I have ever seen a female scarecrow before.

Incidentally, the Methodist Church in Haltwhistle made a scarecrow of their minister last week for the local competition, but it was stolen after 24 hours, so the call is out to find him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.