Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

The Cascade, Blenheim Palace

We spent the whole day at Blenheim, enjoying a tour and visiting exhibitions within the Palace, followed by a walk around the extensive gardens, laid out by Capability Brown. Like me, he was a fan of water features. So much to see, temples, fountains, The Secret Garden. I love visiting gardens.

Churchill was born here, and in the exhibition I rather liked this quotation about his hobby :
"When I get to heaven, I mean to spend a considerable time of my first million years in painting and so get to the bottom of the subject."

We drove a short distance on to the village of Bladon and found his grave in the churchyard. A simple stone for a great man. At his request, he was laid to rest in the family plot there.

Back to Oxford, and dinner at the "Eagle and Child", the pub where Tolkien and C S Lewis met on Tuesdays to discuss their writing.

F

Backblipped yesterday at Christ Church, Oxford.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.