Scene of the crime

I did it again!! I cannot believe it!! Another day I overslept and didn't hear the alarm! My sister and I had scheduled massages and I told her I would down to her house by 9 a.m. I woke up at 9:30! UGH!
This time I was not going to miss my appointment. I threw some things in a gym bag, jumped into my clothes, ran a brush threw my hair and took my cup of coffee to go. I got to my sister's house and she was already in her car waiting for me. I grabbed my things and jumped into her car and off we drove to the spa for our massages.
The place we go in down near the beach. We walk into the place and check in. They take you to an area where there are lockers and you can get yourself changed into your robe. In each locker is a robe to wear. We got changed, put on our robes and locked up our belongings. The woman that normal does my sister's massage was ready for her so I just sat in the relaxation room and waited for my regular girl to show up. I waited and waited and waited. After a while someone else brought me inside the room, showed me were to hang my robe and set me up on the heated bed. She told me to relax and that my girl would be there soon. I fell asleep!! I mean if you lay me down on a warm bed with a sheet and blanket and have soothing spa music playing I'm going to fall asleep. Especially after having had no breakfast and rushing there like a crazy person.
I woke up to the sound of the door opening and my regular girl apologizing for having the time of my appointment wrong. Apparently, I had slept for 45 minutes! I told her about my late start to the day, so not to worry about it since I managed to take a nice nap. She was very relieved.
After our massages, we usually have lunch but because of how late we were running many places closed for lunch already. We decided on a different place than our usual. We got there and there was a big sign 'FOR RENT'. My sister suggested another place that was on the water of the inlet and with my stomach going on fumes at this point, I agreed. We drive over there, parked and got to the door of the restaurant and there is a sign that said 'Closed until further notice.' We could not believe it.! Was there some conspiracy to keep us from eating lunch today??? We walked down by the dock and found an outdoor bar that was open and decided to just sit down and make the best of it there.
While we were sitting there, my sister used her phone to see if she could find out why the place next door was closed down. Well, we found out!!! Just weeks ago the owner of the place shot his female manager in the parking lot right where we parked our cars! Not only that, he barricaded himself so as not to give himself up to the police and after 10 hours the SWAT team was negotiating with him and he started shooting at the police!!! He will not be back for a long time.
Unfortunately, my sister and I both had horrible stomachaches after eating at this bar we found. We should have just skipped lunch. Well at least I managed to capture the Union Marina boats for my blip and we did get a good bit of gossip. Not a total loss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.