The promise of rain

A promise that was kept. Only intermittently perhaps, but once was while I was out posting the letters I'd spent the morning doing, and going to the supermarket.

I woke at the time I need to wake during the week, which on a July Saturday is well before the time to go out for my run if I am to be able to capture a Saturday Sunrise. So I sat in front of a heater and read a chapter of A Necessary End by Peter Robinson.

When I set out on my morning run there was a mass of black clouds on the horizon to the north east, and the rest of the sky was clear and starry. Fog was just beginning to form over the Mahurangi River on the other side of the peninsula from where our place is. Along the foreshore of Snells Beach I was able to watch the lightening of the sky and the development of more and more colour in the gap which had opened in the black (then grey) cloud mass.

I was interested to note the gradually increasing number of species of (and individual) waders. In some pools oyster catchers, stilts and herons seemed unconcerned at each other's presence.

By the time I got back to the top of the ridge (where both sides of the peninsula are visible) before heading back home, the fog was a thick mass in the valleys and nooks on the western (Mahurangi River) side. If it weren't a saturday, I might have been tempted to a different view. This is the 20th week (of 28) this year that I have posted a sunrise blip on a Saturday.

S worries about my obsessionality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.