Sentimental

Unfortunately, our blipmeet didn't get off the ground tonight - sometimes work conspires to get in the way of life. But not to worry (MV- sorry I didn't get to phone you back...remiss of me. Thanks for letting me know though)

I used the 'spare' evening as an opportunity to whizz over to see my Nana and deliver a much needed envelope that I have been promising to post for the last couple of week (but again, work has conspired and it has been sat in my kitchen all that time!).

Corin came with me and we went first to Blundellsands for a bracing walk along the beach and to see the Iron Men - something that Grandad used to do fairly frequently in his final years. I have taken stacks of photos - but they are for processing tomorrow night as I am frankly too tired at just before midnight to even think about it!

Then we went to Nana's, who had made fresh scones for us both which was a real treat (warm out of the oven with butter on...yummm).

I cannot go to Nana and Grandads house now without feeling sad that Gramps isn't sat in his chair anymore. But it doesn't make me cry now - just makes me start my little ritual of wandering round the house, garage and shed looking at all of the things that have been there for years and years and that remind me so completely of him. Picking things up that were his - stupid really to be sentimental over old tobacco tins full of screws, rawl-plugs and random bits that he was obviously saving!

I went up and sat in his bedroom with him and had a chat. No - not lost my marbles - and I think that my mum and my aunty val both do the same. Not sure about uncle Dave - think he is possibly a little more self controlled than us women!

The chest that Grandad's ashes are kept in was bought by my cousins for my Nana. Inside the chest, is the casket, but also a Bible - Grandads bible that he received I think when he joined the army. Inside is a soldiers prayer - which is pertinent and relevant today, given the loss of life of another British soldier in Afghanistan.

The handwritten note in the back of the bible reads "This bible belongs to my Dad from when he was in the army" - Nana thinks my mum wrote it - which would make sense, as my mum has written her name at some point in her childhood in the front of the bible too.

It was nice and calming to sit in his room. I feel like he is still there. I hope that somehow, his spirit is there with us.

Great chat with nana - she was on top form - very perky, full of stories and as animated as ever with Corin.

Personal history, memories, places that are home, even though you've never lived there...thats what this evening has been about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.