Photogen

By Photogen

Twirling Swan

This morning after my swim I headed out to Mugdock Country Park, on another scorching day, to capture a watery scene at Mugdock Loch. The only signs of life were a few dog owners with their pets. The animals eagerly leapt at the opportunity for a cooling swim or drink of water.

However, I spotted some movement of swans on the little islet where they had been nesting, and in due course a little cygnet swam out followed by a parent bird. Anyway, in my mad dash to find a good viewpoint I lost my footing, forgetting my sandals did not have the grip of trainers. I ended up crashing down on the gravel path, with right elbow and knee dripping blood. There was nothing for it but to go for a dip myself in my cropped trousers and T-shirt to clean up - otherwise I'd have looked as if I'd been attacked by a rotweiler. The swan did not seem put off by this performance and thankfully no one was around to witness my undignified mopping-up operation in the loch!

I dried my hands, grabbed my camera (which now bears a few scars as well!) and took a series of pictures. Swans are over-photographed, I know, like robins in winter. Yet they are the epitome of beauty. This shot has been distorted slightly with a Photoshop Twirl filter to give a different twist or, perhaps I should say 'twirl', to the subject. Four other loch pictures I uploaded at the start of my landscape portfolio and a couple of others are in my Special Effects portfolio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.