Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

HOME MADE

I am stretching the meaning of HOME MADE today - I was going to blip some of my home made cards, but then thought of this meditation that I wrote whilst away on an Art Weekend in North Wales in 2004.  Amazing what comes to our mind when looking at such a simple object.

Sitting indoors - because it was cold,
I looked out into the garden
to watch the bird activity.


On the deck patio
the chairs and tables stood
resplendent in their emptiness
giving themselves up to the buffeting wind
and occasional spots of rain.

The sun came out for a moment
and shone on the roses
trailing up the spindles of the balustrade
but it soon left
leaving them to be buffeted by the wind also.
The leaves and rosebuds trembled
and tried to hold themselves erect -
but the wind was too strong.

The little pot of ivy on the table
was sheltered from the elements -
then the sun came out again
and glinted on an apple core left by a guest,
who was obviously too engrossed in his or her work
to put it on the compost heap.

I crept outside to have a closer look -
and wondered how much potential was locked in one small
remnant of a once rounded and perfect apple.

Is this how I am seen by God?
Beneath my half-eaten outside
is there lots of potential?
Will I do any good where I am
or do I need to be deposited
in God's great compost bin
and covered by Him
to speed up the process
of dying to self?

As I allow Him to work in me -
who knows -
before long I could be producing
rounded and perfect apples!


© Maureen Iles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.