RUBBISH ON THE BEACH

The beach was raked at 5.00 a.m. - I know because I heard the tractor - the buoys are out ready for the Armed Forces Open Water Swimming Championships - I know, because I have seen them - and the litter pickers are out on the beach - why? Because people are too lazy to pick up their litter and take it home!

I sometimes wonder why people are so selfish - particularly when they leave glass bottles on the beach, as well as spent barbecues and all sorts of other detritus. Don't they think of other people? Well the answer, of course, is no, they don't - and yet these same people would be angry if they came to the beach and found it strewn with rubbish.

Yesterday I began reading a book entitled Living Water by Brother Yun, a Chinese preacher and evangelist whose life has been marked by both persecution and miracles through his intense desire to reach China with the gospel. I read the first two chapters on Repentance and Forgiveness and realise that there is a lot of "rubbish" in my life that needs to be sorted out.

“‎When you point your finger at someone, anyone,
it is often a moment of judgement.
We point our fingers when we want to scold someone,
point out what they have done wrong.
But each time we point,
we simultaneously point three fingers back at ourselves.”
Christopher Pike

Jesus said:
"You can see the speck in your friend’s eye,
but you don’t notice the log in your own eye."


Food for thought for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.