THE SEA LOOKS INVITING

I am amazed that I have used the Canon for 3 days running and enjoyed it! I took this from our balcony this morning, and the sea does look inviting, and no doubt many will be in there again today, but it's not something I am going to do! There were about 10 people already swimming by 8.30 - and it was probably cooler in there than out on the beach and I may even paddle my feet, but then again……..

I am also amazed at how patient I have become when taking photographs and whereas before I was happy to take one or two and move on, now I am taking more of the same shot and comparing them to see if I can do any better. Guess that's what learning is all about - and I am enjoying it.

At 9.30 a.m. it is very warm and I am undecided about whether to go out or just to stay in the coolness of the apartment - think it will probably be the former, but it's a job to get going in this heat. I know storms are predicted, but some gentle rain would be very pleasant without thunderstorms.

Hope you have a very pleasant day wherever you are and whatever your weather.

I remember learning this poem at school - did anyone else learn it?

"Sea-fever"

I must down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by,
And the wheel's kick and the wind's song and the white sail's shaking,
And a grey mist on the sea's face, and a grey dawn breaking.

I must down to the seas again, for the call of the running tide
Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied;
And all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,
And the flung spray and the blown spume, and the sea-gulls crying.

I must down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,
To the gull's way and the whale's way where the wind's like a whetted knife;
And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover
And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick's over.
John Masefield 1878-1967

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.