A Life of Laughter

By LaughterLover

Mid-week Mayhem

We decided to have a quiet day today and just go for a cycle around Strontian and up to the lead mines....boy were we wrong when we thought it was going to be an easy day.

We were told by the lady in the tourist information office that it was very easy to cycle to the lead mines and back as a circular. She was wrong. It was hard, very, very hard. We had to lug two bikes up a very steep hill which had no path whilst we were being eaten alive by clegs and midges. It was not pleasant to say the least, and there was a very grumpy couple at the top of the lead mines.

However, apart from the hill fiasco, the cycle was incredible! Rory is trying to get me more into mountain biking as that's what his hobby is and I bought a new bike before we came on holiday so I could try it out. Whilst today was a baby introduction, I can safely say that I feel confident and happy to cycle over loose stones and tree roots.

The path we cycled on through Ariundle Oakwoods was incredible. The scenery was amazing, we were cycling the path of a little river the entire time! Rory even had me cycling over some boardwalk whilst we were out! The decent from the lead mines was spectacular also, and I felt confident going at a slightly fast pace over the rocks and roots despite a mishap earlier in the day (the resulting bruise will be fantastic).

We treated ourselves to dinner at a local restaurant and I will say, the curry I had was possibly the best I have ever eaten! We even enjoyed some after dinner Disarono as a pick me up due to both feeling a little sorry for ourselves (Rory for sunburn and myself for my biking accident this morning).

A perfect day if you omit the middle section of the bike ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.