Fun with Blue Soldier Crabs......

...Explored some new territory today...I wanted to get closer to place where all the birds seem to roost...found a little path to take me to the exact spot.

The tide was very low and the blue soldier crabs were out in force ....much to the delight of my girlfriend who had never seen them before.

They are so amazing and sensitive that when one gets close they burrow in.......standing very still and not moving they all start to come out again....even crawling up ones foot.
The sound they make as they scurry in droves across the wet sand is rather awesome...I wish I could post it...that sound.
Close to the water is a writhing mass of blue....such a beautiful blue.......however on closer inspection I notice there were a couple of yellow ones with black stripes...I think they may of been the bosses...they were bigger.

My feeling is that their pecking order is rather complicated in a crabby sort of way.

My new bike does not rust...I am thinking on doing a long ride on the beach really soon.
I was rather absent on blip last night.....so tired.......hope to catch up tonite.

"Let the waters settle,
you will see the stars and
the moon mirrored in your Being."
--Rumi (not the dog)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.