A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

House on the hill.

That was the name of our walk this morning around the village of Cullingworth. This isn't the house in the title of the walk, but this was the view of the sky as we turned off Station Rd and headed towards Ellar Carr. I thought it was very striking and worth a blip especially as the forecast had been for a grey and drizzly morning.

The House on the hill is the one set on a cliff like promontory above Ellar Carr mill pond but at this time of year it is barely visible due to the profusion of trees.

It was a very interesting walk for me as it was one I had never done before despite the fact that I was born and brought up in this village. Having said that all the places we walked to were familiar, we just did a few routes that I had not used previously.

This area was adjacent to my old primary school and we had our nature walks here, looking at the flora and fauna of the area not least the water rats (voles) in the mill pond.

Our return, through Goit Stock woods, took me past my old home too.
A lovely start to a bright and breezy day. Hope it's a good weekend for everybody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.