Just a seedhead ............

................. by a ploughed field.

(with thanks to my friend, "Snifferdog" for allowing me to borrow one of his "just a ....." titles!!!!!!!)

This image did not come out quite as I expected ..... however it looks much better than I'd hoped so obviously the camera knows best!!
Or does it?
I chose the settings and took the photo, applied a slight sharpen and a small crop afterwards - and that's all.

I read an interesting article the other day about modern cameras ...... part of it said something like this ..

" we spend a lot of money on clever cameras with all the settings and technology needed to take wonderful photographs automatically and then we change and over-ride those settings to take our pictures - why not just buy a simpler camera in the first place and save some of that money?"

It really made me think ....
Do I know better than the technology? I certainly don't.
Can I take better photos than the "auto settings" can? Sometimes I can.

Then I had another think ...... if I had taken this particular photo on auto or landscape setting the ploughed field would have been brown and in focus, the green flower buds would have been detailed, as would the dying yellowy grass, the stalk would have looked brittle and dead and the individual seedheads would not have looked so soft and ethereal .......... instead it's all dreamy pink , shadowy green and fairy-like seeds.

My decision ..... individuality and experimentation trumps technology every time!


Thank you for all your lovely comments, stars and hearts on the moorhenling yesterday - so pleased you all found him/her as cute as I did.




NIKON D5200 : f/1.8 : 1/4000" : 50mm : ISO 640 : EV -0.3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.