From Dreamy Pink ......

....... to gritty black and white!

Unlock ....


(Skip to the bottom if you don't want to read about Camera School)

As some of you know (some other blippers are taking part too) I joined Camera School to help me learn more about my camera and photographic techniques ..... Module 5 (of 6) is "Black & White" .... certainly way, way out of my comfort zone ..... so I have been looking around to find subjects that fit the brief that we are given.

That brief is black and white (not converted from colour after taking),
fill the frame with interesting, natural or man-made patterns or textures that work well in b/w,
aperture priority, matrix metering, ISO 400 or above,
white balance on auto and f/8 (or lower if you want less DoF).
They prefer you don't crop or do more than very basic post-processing (which suits me fine!!).
I have tried to follow the guidelines but confess I did have to tweak the contrast and saturation somewhat to get this anywhere near what I wanted to achieve ......

.......although I have already taken over 200 shots of various bits and pieces for this module I definitely need to practise some more - ah well, onward and upward and it's really making me think!!!! (there are a lot of tree bark, church walls and fence photos for this already and I want to steer clear of those if I can)

Any tips and/or hints would be very welcome ..... bear in mind that I live in the country and do not really have ready access to nice, dirty, gritty city buildings!!!


Thanks so much for all the feedback on my photo and narrative yesterday - interesting to read different points of view and ideas.


I have just noticed that I reached 200,011 views this morning - an average of 265 views for each photo I have posted (including the 187 backblips) - wow, thank you all so much!!




NIKON D5200 : f/5.3 : 1/20" : 66mm : ISO 400 : EV +0.3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.