Photogen

By Photogen

Teamwork - 'Pavement artists'

Last winter took its toll on the streets and pavements and lots of complaints have been circulating about the state of them. Today I was awakened to the sounds of lorries grinding to a halt, men calling to each other and a general kerfuffle in the street! This was the council's pavement repair squad. It was interesting to watch how efficiently they worked as a team, removing the broken surface, filling with the new tarmac, raking it, tamping in the little white stones on the surface, then applying water and the heat machine. In no time the badly broken tarmac was back to rights and they were gone.

I took a series of pictures and I chose this one at the raking stage as it brought them all together in an interesting configuration. I liken the whole operation to a choreographed modern dance because it was done so elegantly. The 'raker' had an audience of three for his 'solo' performance - well, four if you count me, although they were oblivious of my presence! The whole procedure had no wasted movements and it flowed - beautifully co-ordinated with one action running into the next - everyone knowing their role. I take my hat off to these guys - worthy subjects of a blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.