A Sock Story

I got the idea for this blip late last night.

I like comfortable socks.

It was around 11pm. I had gotten home from work around 10.30 and had walked Jassy. My plan was to have a few glasses of wine and watch some pre-recorded MotoGP bikes.

The problem was this though. Jo was long asleep and I didn't want to keep wandering back and forth to the fridge with my shoes on when I needed to top up my glass. We have wooden floors which are quite noisy to walk around on. The logical thing to do was to take me shoes off and walk around the house in my socks.

That was what I did but only under sufferance. These are not cheap socks at around $14 a pair. The thought of ruining them by wearing them on the bare floor makes me cringe. Also the washing never seems to properly remove the debris my socks pick up from the floor.

Yes, I know, I could have brought the wine to the laptop and be done with it. That would have tempted me to drink the whole bottle though.

It made me think about the absurdity of the situation I found myself in. The logical thing to do was walk around in my socks (which I did) and if, over time they wear out, well bugger it I can buy a new pair. On reflection, $14 isn't really that much to pay.

The MotoGP bikes were great to watch, the wine was palatable (and very cheap) and the socks were comfy.

I went to bed at 1am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.