A is for.....

(Big) Apple, Adventure.... and more, if you've time to read below :)

Following on with Hobbs Monday Filterama Challenge! This is week 3. See Hobbs for more details :)

I took the photos in the garden with the apples on the 'weed patch'! Then I've applied a green tint to the apples at the bottom, and the original shot is at the top :)

Yesterday I learned from my mother that my nephew A is off to the USA to University (I thought he was going to Harvard, but apparently not) today!! It was a complete shock to me to find that he is going so early.

Anyway I digress!

Where did those (nearly 19) years go? It doesn't seem that long since I held A as a baby, then last autumn he was a young man at my Father's Retirement Party (here on the right)!

He did very well in his recent A levels, gaining A*AAB and is off to Columbia University which I understand is in New York and on or near Manhatten Island (I'm sure that American blippers will correct me if I'm wrong)!

The whole family of my brother, sister-in-law, A and his younger brother L are off to New York today to set A up in his accommodation and sort out everything he needs for the next year :)

Last night I did eventually manage to speak to both my brother and sister-in-law, though sadly not to my nephew to wish him luck!

So this is a tribute to my nephew A and all his hard work.

Hopefully now you will see the connection to the A is for Apple (meaning the Big Apple of New York) and Adventure, for surely this will be what it is to my nephew :)

I wish him the very best of luck in his chosen courses and career, as I don't expect I will see or hear from him all that often (though I hope, like my sister in law, that he will Skype sometime). He will be a very busy young man indeed :)

Its back to work for me this afternoon, and I am not looking forward to it at all! Oh well, the good things don't last for ever...

Happy Monday folks :)






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.