... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Old General Herbarium

I've just backblipped my two Devon pictures!
Day 1: Ilfracombe Quay
Day 2: Exmoor Rally

I couldn't resist this (don't try to resist this): I wandered to and fro through the Old Gen. Herb. six times between 9AM and 10AM (gawd...) and each time I passed through, I found it harder to resist the set of steps which were standing at the central hall end of the herbarium, right on the line of symmetry of the long herbarium; they seemed perfectly set-up for a high-altitude version of my usual Old. Gen. Herb symmetry shot... (Gosh, I've just searched blip, and I don't seem to have posted a wide, symmetrical shot of this before!? I wonder how that happened... Perhaps I just didn't tag it properly.)

Anyway, here it is: it is a fantastic space, and it is such a shame that it stands mostly empty. To the left there are glass-fronted book cases with the overflow from the botany library, and to the right are cardboard boxes full of specimens that are yet to be processed (inspected, mounted, and filed) which constitutes part of the large "backlog" of specimens that could be part of the collection if only there was time to deal with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.