Established 1854

The Canterbury Brewery building is coming down. The actual building wasn't built in 1854 but that's when the brewery started.

I bike past every morning and thought I should blip it today before it's too late. The reduction to 1-lane of traffic and cones everywhere is normal here. It can be exciting on a bike but mostly people are reasonable.

Large is cool (note the wrapped traffic light poles with cones on top)

While not a drinker of Canterbury draught it's the loss of a landmark. The land is destined to be part of the new Metro Sports facility. Speights Brewery in Dunedin now produces Canterbury Draught. If you're a one-eyed Cantabrian I guess that's less bitter than having it made in Auckland ;-)

How it used to look and more information.

I'm computer-less tonight. Probably just as well as I have yoga and a few bits and bobs to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.