SkiMe

By SkiMe

Dogma Magic Theatre #2

"Some of us think holding on makes us strong but sometimes it is letting go"
— Hermann Hesse

A great evening ride tonight with my friend Ermanno, the owner of the Capaninna restaurant in Viano. A true gentleman, very generous and genius in his own right. I had been thinking about a great photo along the road all day today like something I've already done here and here. By the time we got back, I had to admit I carried my camera for nothing as we never stopped! haha So, I had to be content with a picture of Ermanno and the bikes!

Ermanno just turned 70 a week ago. I still can not keep up with him on the climbs! The restaurant is closed for August and he's been traveling a week in Toronto, Canada, relaxing, and riding his mountain bike a lot. So, the first time on the road bike in a year and he says it seems so very easy. I love his trusty Merckx with beautiful Columbus steel tubing. My very modern stead is at an easy disadvantage given the rider on top. ha... we both got passed on the climb by a very fast guy on a Team Specialized. Ermanno had the genius to say afterwards, for what we are getting paid that we are fast enough. haha

Ermanno was kind enough to invite me in after the ride to enjoy some fresh fruit and a bit of Parmasean cheese. Back home now and a bit of food in the stomach. So, a late blip for today.

In the last few days the magic feeling of anticipation that comes with the change of the seasons has been welling up. All the tell signs are in place... the air cooling off, dry leaves rustling, the shortening of the days... for me, I think is my favorite. More romantic than the newness of Spring, the fall time has always brought time for reflection and to savour the fruits of the year. Not to mention, the fall marks the nearness of the upcoming winter ski season!

Today's quote is dedicated to Ermanno. One of his quotes that stays close to heart: "It is nice to receive, but three times as nice to give."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.