The Roma garden

Nearly 2 years ago I put in a raised garden in my back courtyard. Until then I'd tended to be a practical garden growing things I could eat.

But this garden is predominantly flowers, shrubs, one small trees and my native Clematis I'm delighted is a vigorous climber across my back fence. A few herbs are all I can eat from this garden with the edible stuff at the front.

Over 3 years ago we watched Mum battle back from urgent surgery when a tumor got a bit testy. About a year later as I planning my garden we knew Mum had many battles ahead. From that sad knowledge the idea of my Roma garden started.

Mum has always been a terrific gardener. While she is familiar with a warmer climate she has been part of my plans and ideas. Slowly but surely I'm killing fewer things and shrubs, climbers etc are filling the spaces I planned for them.

Today I've been at home because I'm fighting off a sore throat and generally my colleagues don't thank me if I arrive contagious (and vice-versa). As I lay on the couch this afternoon I spoke to Mum as she lay on her couch at the other end of the county.

She sounded good as I described the warmth of sun and air streaming in through open doors. I don't have the finesse to blip gardens as many of you have but I thought I'd attempt a blip to show Mum the colour in the garden I named after her.

Large is lovely

Thank you for your comments yesterday. I've been somewhat less energetic today ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.