Hazy Days

Another lovely busy day today. Miss E had a Summer Camp at her gymnastics club.
She started being really silly this morning, doing the clingy baby behaviour that drives me barmy. But I ignored it, thought happy thoughts and got them in the car with minimal nagging. Well Miss E nagged Miss L for taking too long which was quite funny.
I suddenly had a brainwave in the car listening to her gibbering something in a baby voice.
"Are you nervous about gymnastics?"
A tiny voice: "Yes"
It hadn't occurred to me that a full day with loads of people she doesn't know in a relatively new environment might be daunting.
If I'd shouted at her to stop being so babyish and annoying she'd never have told me.
Day Three of no shouting. It's like a different world!!
I dropped Miss E off - successfully fighting the urge to rush in and cuddle her and take her home when I looked through the window and saw her sitting on her own amongst all the giant older kids like a little lost lamb......
From there Miss L and I went to Mrs R's house and had a very pleasant few hours chatting, drinking tea and setting the world to rights.
Miss E seemed happy but exhausted when I picked her up. I watched the last few minutes of the session through the window and she looked ready to drop as they ran around and did a funky dance!
"Fine" was all I got when I asked her how it went!
She did elaborate a bit over the last few hours and apparently won three of the games.
More than the other girls on her team.
Who were all bigger!
That's my girl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.