Zipping Past

Very peaceful and sunny this morning; the banks of the Avon River couldn't have been more tranquil.

Tilly and I sat on the fisherman's pontoon, a wooden platform about a foot off the water at the bottom a steep bank, hoping to get a glimpse of some dragons. We didn't have to wait long as they zipped up and down the riverbank over the water hunting. I do like the way they fly with their legs tucked up rather like little bullets bombing along. Love also their inquisitive nature too as they checked me out eyeball to eye ball as we invaded their territory.

Tricky, to get a shot, panning all the way then hoping they would hover just for a second within the frame! Annoying, when one came up close and personal for a photo opportunity - rumour had it I was shooting today - and it was tooooooo close to focus with the zoom. Frantic lens changing didn't 'cut the mustard,' as my mother would say.

Not unhappy with this shot as taken as speed :)) There are a few more shots from today including a Ruddy Darter and a fly which I really rather liked because of his orange eyes.

Massive thanks everyone for all the really lovely comments, stars and hearts on yesterday's otter. So pleased you liked it ! )

I sold my very first picture today!!! Woo hoo :) Didn't make anything but didn't lose out either.

Click the icon and go larger!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.