The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

A late clock

There won't be many more dandy blips from this hemisphere in 2013. I was surprised to find this one this morning since I have not seen one in flower for sometime. The light first thing this morning was divine, whereas tomorrow promises to be a diabolical day of rain and wind - though there is no sign of the weather changing as I write this.

The warmth of the afternoon had the effect I was hoping for: Reggie appeared on the lawn to graze. We need to keep an eye on him now in case he decides to dig himself in for his winter sleep, so I have bodged together a pen for him using all the bits of scaffolding boards that we have gathered as opportunities have come along. Now I know I can find him without having to spend a whole weekend searching as I did in Spring last year when he went missing.

Later we filled three wheelie bins with ivy from our walls, which were in danger of collapse under the weight. There is never a good time to cut it down: this time of year it's about to flower, and is one of the few plants providing a food source for insects late in the season. But I dared not leave it any longer.

Then it was another trip to Jack Scout to gather yet more blackberries, and say goodbye to the sun - we may not see it for a couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.