Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

BUBBLES

As I walked along the beach today, watching the tide coming in and occasionally having to dodge the waves so my shoes didn't get wet, I saw on the shoreline millions of BUBBLES - which fits in well with HeartFreek's September Challenge.

I chatted to Chris and Ben, both lifeguards with the Royal National Lifeboat Institution, who said that they were showing some young adults with special needs around today, making them aware of what the flags on the beach meant and where it was safe to swim, and they were also showing them how they rescued people who got into trouble whilst swimming or surfing or perhaps out in a dinghy or kayak.

I noticed on the board outside their Lifeguard Station that the air temperature was 14°C and the sea temperature was 16°C so I would have been warmer in the water than out of it - is that how it works?

Have a look here to find out more about the valuable work the lifeguards do on our beaches.

It's a cold, grey, wet and very windy day today as you can see by my blip, but these lads and girls are out in all winds and weathers - so all credit and thanks are due to them.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.