WATER - 1001 BLIPS CHALLENGE

I woke up this morning with the urge to do some clearing out, so the target was my Quiet Room - I have thousands of photographs and negatives going back over 40 years, as well as books, CDs, and various other bits and bobs that have accumulated over the years and just been put into my room - so that it has become difficult to get in there.

I put on a CD and was singing along, enjoying some very old worship songs, but the truths are the same however old they are!

Blips are never that far from my mind and I began to think about WATER - knowing full well that apart from having a shower when I have finished to get rid of all the dust, I wouldn’t be near any water today.

Then…..I found some photograph albums and one of them contained the photographs taken when Mr. HCB and I were baptised on the 18th March 2001. Tucked inside the album was a card from Angie and Pete, very dear friends of ours, and I must admit I had a little tear in my eye, as Angie died a few weeks ago - and of course, seeing her writing in the card, brought back lots of memories.

Although we are Baptists, and we are members at Lawn Community Church, in 2001 we didn’t have our own baptismal pool, so we were baptised at Gorse Hill Baptist Church, the church I attended from when I was 3 years old until I met Mr. HCB when I was about 21 - I then started going to his church - but GHBC has always been very special to me, so to be baptised there was great.

Angie had written in the card:

You are a planting of the Lord
for the display of His splendour.
Isaiah 61:3

This is the Lord’s word to you on the day of your Baptism.


It was a very special day, she was and still is a very special lady - and our God is good - my prayer is that Mr. HCB and I will always show the splendour of the Lord wherever we go and whatever we do.

This is one of the songs we chose to sing on the day of our baptism and which is one of Mr. HCB's favourites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.