Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Look, Stranger

Worked on Image Interpretations for Photo class most of day.

Then for the exciting bit. First I went to the opening party for the Hexham Abbey Festival 2013. That was a pleasant do with quite a few friends there and another opportunity to look at the embroidery exhibition.

The first concert of the festival was Ruthie Culver and the UtterJazz Quartet with Nicholas Grace, actor. They performed poems by WH Auden using jazz interpretations of the Auden songs by Benjamin Britten. It was a very exciting evening. The music and the words demanded complete concentration. I'm not much of jazz fan or heavily into Britten (although I know what I like of his). I suspect that knowing the original works too well might have made the evening challenging, but I just loved it.

The whole group and Nicholas were very friendly and I was invited to take photos. Here they are enjoying themselves when it was all over. I suspect they needed to let off steam at this point.

I have a portrait I really like of Nicholas Grace - very dark and moody - I'll put it on Blipfolio.

See more photos from tonight here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.