Pigeon Care

One Street: Market Square, Shipley #57

The Market Square supports quite a large population of pigeons. There are signs stating that they should not be fed but this seems to be completely ignored. Most of the people eating their sandwiches at lunchtime spare a few crumbs for these scavengers. There is a lovely Asian lady who regularly brings a whole of bread for them. Irene here had taken pity on the runt of the local pigeon flock and was determined to throw some bread into its path. I watched her for quite a while. Her aim wasn't bad but the poor undernourished bird was too slow. One of the others always got to the food first. Then it got lucky. Her aim was perfect and the little one didn't have to move: straight it into its mouth on the half-volley! She was as delighted as the pigeon must have been. I think that little act of kindness made her day. And mine too. This then had to be my blip for the day. I rather like the way the one pigeon here is trying to feed out of the shadow of her hand as it's about to throw the food.

I've had a bit of a mare at the office today, nothing going smoothly. I need to have something ready for tomorrow morning so I'm afraid it's a blip and back to work. I did at least get out for a run with Spartan tonight, and despite both of us pledging to keep it steady it turned out to be quite brisk. I think both of us needed to blow some cobwebs out of our system.

Thanks for all the good wishes re the writing. I'm developing a practice. It's important that the writing becomes a habit. My notebook is going to travel everywhere with me just as my camera does. It's not very different really. Just another means of recording what I'm seeing and feeling and thinking - although certainly requiring a little more effort!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.