Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

"I love you Granny"

I did a few things today, though I'm feeling rather flat and tired - I guess that's what comes of waking at 3:53 (yes, I checked the time; I know I advise everyone else not to, but I don't stress about the time remaining to sleep, and simply wanted to know if it was too early to go for a run). Annoyingly, despite not stressing about the time, my mind became somewhat overactive nonetheless, and it seemed to take a fair while to get back to sleep - thus I hadn't had much more sleep when I woke again at half past five, and went out for a run.

Run was deceptively quick. I felt heavy and slow, and at first my foot did twinge a bit going downhill), but for me it was rather fast (fastest pace was 3:45/km, and fastest full km was 4:21).

A little after breakfast I headed out to get mrs tsuken's birthday present (a hanging egg/pod chair thing, which I promptly set up for her rather than making her wait till her birthday). The kids love it too, and I took some lovely photos of each of them, including this of Missy-moo (larger here), which I took while asking her to say what she'd like to say to her Granny and Papa - which provided the title for this blip. 8)

I had a lovely long video chat with my mother (yay the 21st Century).

I played with Missy and her dinosaurs for a fair while, which was fun but also totally surreal.

I tuned my guitar xP and came up with a quartal-harmony funky-fusiony-jazzy groove thing which I really like - and quickly and horridly recorded with Loopy on my iPhone so I don't forget it.

I played the kids their very first Goon Show (the Booted Gorilla), which was ... interesting. They sort of listened, and dissolved into laughter whenever the audience laughed or there was a funny sound effect or vocal expression. Later I read them Bad Jelly the Witch, with as always, my best attempts at the voices from Spike's own reading of it (I wish I could find a recording of it, along with the wonderful songs from the other side of the record). That, they very much listened to, and spent much of it in absolute hysterics - which is always good. 8)

Kids have had their pizzas, and once they're in bed we'll have ours. Night-night in advance. 8)

And apologies - again - for not being Septemberly-square.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.