Never Ending Grass

For the last eight days I have been clearing overgrown garden plots in preparation to getting a load of compost this week. While a couple were not cleared last season, making them very bad, the others were in production up to last autumn. Grass has been busy growing over the winter and spring. Here are before and after shots I took of the plot I started on this morning and worked on until the rain came. This was a grass removal job only. I can't cultivate it or remove the matted twitch roots because it is my asparagus bed and I don't want to damage the asparagus roots. (There are three shoots ready to cut- yum!).

A few years ago I could have done this work in two or three days, but I am so slow and frustratingly puny now that it has become a big deal. I had hoped by now that I'd be getting used to it, but I feel wrecked, and dependant on paracetamol. There is still the greenhouse to clear of twitch, but that can be done when it's raining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.