home again

My head and my heart are still filled with my son's wedding which was this past weekend . . . of course I wanted to be there, but I had no expectations of what it would be like. It was more wonderful, touching and sweet than I ever imagined and fun too! I danced with both my sons at one point, to their kind of music which I like too. Later Decklin asked me for a special mother/son dance - dancing together as in dancing school -- and then Steven, who does not usually dance at all, saw me standing on the dance floor and came up and asked me to dance with him (huge smile). I know he did this just for me.

We are back home now, re-adjusting to our rhythms here, grocery shopping later this afternoon and thinking of what to blip. Then it came to me, home again. That is exactly where we are! Earlier this year we re-did the front yard and the back yard with the help of my good friend Ann Hall who since then has joined blip! Most of the lawn was removed except for one side yard. Instead, Ann planted many Florida Friendly plants. View this large.

Our home has turned into a green tropical oasis with the front yard sporting a ground cover of asiatic jasmine, a holly tree, a Royal Poinciana (the tree in front of the house) which we hope will have beautiful orange blooms next year, a fire bush, a gardenia bush, two bougainvilleas, two mexican sage, pink jatropha, pink salvia, 2 kinds of lantana, cestrum, viburnum, a butterfly bush, plumbago, a pink Tabebuia tree and two wax myrtles. This just describes the front!

I blipped this same scene in March from a different angle. The Poinciana tree is so tiny with hardly any leaves! It's behind the bougainvillea, in front of the stairs to the front door. When it was first planted.

I blipped Sunday's photo earlier today as I was falling asleep at the computer last night after our flight from Boston! You'll find it here and also my description of a new blip project I'll be doing on a weekly basis. You are welcome to join me if you like! Take care till next time, lenna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.