The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Highfield loch, part II

Part I is here. Call me unoriginal... Today's shot should have been of the magnificent edifice created out of pink mega bloks ( big lego) by one of my colleagues, J, at lunchtime play. It was later destroyed by another colleague, S. It's called "annihilating the play" if you're interested, but we couldn't let the students do it without first carrying out a risk assessment, so in that sense most of our play is "adulterated". However, we do work with children with profound and multiple learning difficulties, as well as complex health needs, so having nearly everyone interested in, and involved in, one project, is a Big Deal.

I also went to the amazing commentary on the Vermeer exhibition at the National Gallery, accessed via my local cinema! Vermeer is truly the master of the painting of light. We are going to Holland shortly, at half term, and I am sorry that we will not visit Amsterdam and the Reijksmuseum. I don't think Delft is on the way to my brother's, either. Delft is Vermeer's home town, as well as the home of the blue and white pottery. As a child in Ireland in the 60s, we called all chinaware "Delph".

As it is, I can't take pictures at work, or at the cinema, so this is what I ended up with. After work, I met CleanSteve in town for some shopping, then we went home to listen to the end of Middlemarch (audio version) but sadly I fell asleep! I don't seem to sleep at night much any more. Luckily my friend rang me to remind me about the cinema date, but she and her husband arrived late after being caught up in an accident: a lorry overturned and shed its load of diesel all over the road at Stonehouse. Ouch. What is the onomatopoeiac word for 'slippery surface' ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.