The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Lighting-up time

This is Regency Cheltenham at dusk, as I waited for the bus in the Promenade. I'd been over to meet my friend and former colleague, Dave. We took an autumn walk through the streets down to the river Chelt, which flows past Waitrose... Dave wanted to look at the Christmassy things, and I wanted to check out the kitchen gizmos. We both nearly bought some Christmas lights, but reined ourselves in. We did order coffee, however, but it was too chilly to sit out on the terrace by the river. Afterwards we ate far too much at a Tex-Mex place, and tried to catch up. It's only four months since we met, but so much has happened! There is never enough time to say everything. Our school eco day was a success, and the junk modelling went well, and all the little octopi and elephants I'd mocked up turned out to be about right for the pupils and the time available. No one actually turned up for the first session, which troubled me because I had asked D, my faithful twice-a-week volunteer, to do an extra session! Bless her, she did not complain. Hmm, what's next? Two loads of coursework, that's what! Thank goodness I did not decide to do a third course, in scriptwriting, as I had originally planned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.