MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Nature, Red In Tooth And Claw Close To Home

I was sitting on the sofa working on my laptop when I glanced up and saw a raptor on my front lawn.

I slithered from the couch and wriggled on my tummy across the room, carefully grabbing my camera from the table on the way. Luckily it had my 400mm lens on. I headed for the patio doors, keeping low and using a bookcase for cover. I had to shoot at an oblique angle through the double glazing, which was running with rivulets of rain. The first couple of pics I took were more bookcase than bird of prey. I managed the above shot and then it saw me and flew off with the remains of what I think was a pigeon. Not a great pic because of the conditions but it pleased me. :)

I've seen sparrowhawks before but not close or still, only when they have slipped from my eye-corner, as Ted Hughes has it. I thought at first it was a kestrel but they have dark eyes. Both the sparrowhawk and the kestrel have stripy breeches.

I'm wondering whether this might be a female? Evidently they are 25% larger than the males and do take pigeons.

Anyway it was all very exciting. One doesn't have to leave home to appreciate nature. I bought two books on this theme when my children were young. I got Nature close To Home by Joy Spoczynska in the WH Smith book sale for 25p and we liked Bellamy's Backyard Safari.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.