Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

PINK DAY 22 - YOU'RE A PINK TOOTHBRUSH...

Busy day today, so decided I would do an early blip - and a fun one - as the weather is pretty terrible again today and there isn't much chance of an outdoor blip.

With PINK on my mind, for the Breast Cancer Awareness Challenge a little song came into my mind.

Those of you who live in the UK may remember a programme called Children's Favourites presented by Uncle Mac. This was a BBC programme which started in 1954 on the Light programme and played requests from children of all ages. Uncle Mac's opening words "Hello children, everywhere!" were his "catch-phrase" and he played all sorts of music from pop music of the day to hymns to light classics and of course, being radio, we children had to use our imagination! It was almost like having a favourite elderly relative with you for the morning.

I remember songs like Teddy Bears' Picnic, Billy Goats Gruff, Tubby the Tuba, I Know an Old Lady who Swallowed a Fly, and of course, this song, You're a Pink Toothbrush, I'm a Blue Toothbrush, sung by the one and only Max Bygraves and if you listened, you may remember others too.

Sadly, I don't have many happy memories of my childhood, but I do remember Saturday mornings but maybe it's best, as a dear blip friend of mine says, to:

Lay aside the sadness of your loss
.....and smile at the memories.
Tinkerbelle


Must go, lots to do and people to meet - have a great day, whatever the weather!

P.S. I've clicked here every day so that someone can have a free mammogram, would you please click too?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.