MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Steaming

I went to Weald Common today to take pics of the Redoubt for a project on another site. It is a Mobilisation Centre built in 1889, a sort of fort with stores for arms to protect London. It has been derelict for a long time and I love togging the graffiti. In the past I have been able to access the stores and corridors but these were flooded to door handle height today. As I sat on a bank all alone I could hear acorns plopping into the flood water. I felt a bit like Chicken Licken. :)

I could also hear the chugging of a steam train and decided to position myself on a bridge, constructed of beautiful grey engineering bricks, in the hope of getting a shot. I waited for ages but then heard a whistle and the chuffing came nearer. It was quite exciting and took me back to catching steam trains in the Dengie Hundred as a child.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.