I've got one!

Meaty nuts and seeds are among the favorite foods of the nuthatch. According to a reference I read, the name of this bird comes from its technique of jamming large nuts and acorns into tree bark and then hammering on them with their pointed bill until the meaty inside is "hatched". The nuthatch I blipped today seems to be showing off the seed he has liberated from the feeder.

An easy way to identify this bird is by its habit of walking down, instead of up, the tree trunk or feeder. The nuthatch is one of three birds that typically hang out together; the chickadee and tufted titmouse are the other two. All three come to our feeders, but the titmouse is the most elusive as far as blipping is concerned. I don't have a decent blip of one yet. Persistence is a good blipper trait however, so I'm going to keep trying.

It has been another beautiful day in Ohio. I can't believe the wonderful weather we have been blessed with. This evening we took a ride with our friends to Chagrin Falls where there used to be a Ben and Jerry's ice cream store. To my disappointment, it isn't there any more, and we had to settle for another (read lesser) brand of ice cream. I was a less than happy camper. However, the full moon was shining on us as we drove back home by the river road. With all that beauty, it was impossible to remain disgruntled for long. Ours was a beautiful evening. I hope yours was too.

I like the large version too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.