Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Sub Zero

I spent today doing some tidying (much needed), printing and general sorting out before setting off on my Indian holiday. The first leg is not very exciting with an overnight at the Premier Inn at Newcastle Airport. I also had no blip by the time I arrived.

When I went down for dinner I came across this figure at reception and he kindly agreed to be photographed. The 5D Mk iii does not have a built in flash so I boosted the ISO and asked him to stand under the light on the staircase. In the next shot he looked up to illuminate his face, but he told me that his character, Sub Zero, has his face in darkness, so I've chosen this image.

Technical problems: first Photoshop would not read the RAW files - not until I had downloaded a lot of updates. Secondly most of the commands will not work with the touchpad. I could not crop or work with masks or clone. Hence the unedited photo. I hope there is a mouse at the bottom of the suitcase in which case I'll be able to make this darker and more atmospheric!!

Early flight tomorrow. Let's hope the noisy door slamming and shouting stops soon. After all they do guarantee a good night's sleep here........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.