Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Remembrance

At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.

Robert Laurence Binyon


I had been remembering all day that it was Armistice Day and and had been wondering how to vary my usual candle & poppy blip tonight. It h ad been a lovely sunny day but by the time I drove into town the sun was beginning to set. It was just then that I thought about the Black Angel.

This memorial is to the men of Penrith town and district who fell in the South African war 1899-1902. It's an imposing monument in Castle Park. I was hoping the sun wouldn't have gone down too far before I got there.

What I hadn't anticipated was a park attendant with a bunch of keys. Apparently the main gate is locked at dusk every night. "What time will you be locking it tonight?" I asked. "4.15" Two minutes! "Would you please just let me go up to the angel and back?"

Thankfully he waited while I did a short walk and took a few shots, otherwise I would have had to do a much longer walk and have over-ran my time on the car park.

The other thing, trivial by comparison, I remembered to order a new router!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.